Setting Advanced View Properties

Advanced view properties contain additional settings which control how the view information is returned from TM1.   The advanced properties are shown below:

 

TM1Qonnect - Advanced View Properties

 

hmtoggle_arrow1Use Member Names as Labels

The default behavior of Enterprise Services is to use the member names of the column dimensions to generate the names of the columns.  When temporal dimensions, such as Scenario, Period, Year, Month, etc are placed on columns, consider disabling the Use Member Names as Labels option in the advanced view settings, or assigning generic names to the columns using mappings (see Creating Mappings for details) rather than the default value (which is usually the member name).   Consider the following view:

Temporal Dimensions

By default, Enterprise Services will create column names that match the elements used to create the view.   In the case of years, using 2010 and 2011 for a variance report could affect the application when the next year begins.   Disabling the Use Member Names as Labels option will use the names Col1 and Col2 instead of 2010 and 2011, or rename the columns to Year1 and Year2, using mappings, such that the column names do not change over time.

hmtoggle_arrow1Record Limit

Record limit option allows for limiting how many rows will be returned once the view is constructed.  This is valuable in preventing large queries from being transmitted to applications inadvertently, or when filtering criteria is not constrained sufficiently.   Setting this value to zero (default) will disable row limit constraints.

 

Writeback Settings

Enterprise Services incorporates a number of powerful options to make writing back data to TM1 easy depending on your application needs.   With these write-back options, you do not have to execute TI scripts to prepare dimensions in order to add new information to cubes.   You also do not have to separately write back attribute information with a separate operation.   Enterprise Services allows you configure how the dimension information is to be written back using the Write-back properties screen, on a view by view basis.   Any data written to the cube using the view will conform to the configuration rules established here.  

 

It is important to understand there are write-back settings both at the View level and at the Subset level within the view.   The Subset level controls how new elements are handled when receiving data from an application, whereas the View level settings control how the data vales are written back.  

 

ES - Writeback Settings

 

Since each view can be defined separately, each view can have specific rules about how information is written back, even if the separate vies overlap the same areas.  For example, one view can be configured to allow spreading of consolidated values, and another view can disallow it.   By default, write-back is enabled for all views.

 

hmtoggle_arrow1Enable Writeback

This option enables or disables data writeback for the view.    If this view is attempted to be written back, all submissions will be ignored.  Disabling this option also disables all other writeback options.

hmtoggle_arrow1Auto Spread Consolidations

Enabling this option will allow data values updated at consolidated levels to be written back to TM1.   The default rules for writeback are as follows:

 

If overwriting existing value
When overwriting existing values, Enterprise Services will perform a proportional spread to all contributing elements within the consolidation.
 

If overwriting zero value
When a data value is encountered where previously there is a zero value (or no data) Enterprise Services will perform an equal spread leaves writeback to TM1.   This allows data to be written back to TM1 with no basis.  
 

Caution_200

CAUTION:  Care must be taken by the application when allowing writebacks to occur.   If the view that is written back is at a high level and/or over large element consolidations, a tremendous amount of data can be inadvertently written to TM1.
 
When creating data entry for applications that allow for spreading, constrain the level of the consolidation that the user is permitted to writeback to by filtering the view.   As a general rule, do not allow the user to select the level of consolidation to perform data entry.

 

 

hmtoggle_arrow1Write Updates Only

This option configures Enterprise Services to write back only those values that have been specifically marked as updated using the IsUpdated data element.   This element is returned with the view data and it is up to the application to manage this value.   If Write Updates Only is not checked, ALL data values will be written to the cube, regardless if it has been updated or not.

 

Caution_200

CAUTION:  Unless the view is small enough, it is strongly recommended that the application manage the IsUpdated indicator when writing back information; otherwise performance may be impacted.

 

When the IsUpdated value on the row is set to true , all columns within the row will be written back to TM1 that are not specifically set to false.

 

If IsUpdated value on the row is blank or set to false, all column data will not be written back to TM1 unless the column IsUpdated indicator is set to true.

 

hmtoggle_arrow1Clear View Before Writeback

This option will clear all of the data within the defined view before re-writing all values back.   This capability becomes important when maintaining a certain order or contiguous data within TM1.    For example: Consider invoicing application.   If a user deletes an invoice line item, it should be removed from the data and all subsequent line items should be moved up to take its place.